Thread: Install Error - No Grub, Install on RAID disk failure

Beans

Install Error - No Grub, Install on RAID disk failure

Hi Experts,

System: Fujitsu Primergy TX100, 8 Core 32G RAM system, RAID 1 - 1TB x 2 System
    No UEFI, hence legacy
    Load from USB is configured on BIOS and it does this well.
    RAID - to my understanding is Hardware RAID, as this is the first one which comes up on screen, and then BIOS option, and then when Boot Menu (Grub) should be shown, it now comes as blank.

(I am not an expert, so please bear with me if the details here are not super good)

It was running beautifully on Ubuntu 18.04. I decided to wipe clean (reformat entire disk) and re-install, where it all went south.
    Note, this system previously had windows as well, which I wanted to clean up completely.

In summary, attempting to reset the system from scratch upwards for Ubuntu.

When the installation comes to disks section, there are already two partitions on the disk - I have configured a partition for 500M as /boot, 929 G as / and left another 1 M on the disk - as spare (just in case for grub).
    The system doesnt allow me to choose harddisk as boot device, and hence have configured the USB as the boot device
    Do refer to screenshot #1 on how I have configured the disks manually now.

After this step, there is a installation error as in Screenshot#2 and #3.

Could you advice on what I might be doing wrong?

Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by greenmaxubx; February 29th, 2024 at 01:09 PM.

Beans

Re: Install Error - No Grub, Install on RAID disk failure

No UEFI, hence legacy
    What does that mean? The 3rd image you posted clearly shows partition 2 is unused esp formatted vfat??
    Did you have 18.04 installed in Legacy mode? If your hardware is newer than 10 years old, it should be UEFI capable and the drives GPT. It would make more sense to install in UEFI mode.